ASA’s Pledge To OUR FANS

Isn’t it frustrating when you try and contact your favorite bands and you hear nothing but silence?  I was thinking about this today, and wanted to make a FIRM pledge to all of ASA’s fans – WE WILL ALWAYS REPLY!  I don’t care how “famous” or busy we get.  It is something that I think is SO important to do – like tuning our instruments.  It is an important part of what it means to be in a successful band.

I know some may say “it gets harder when you get famous”.  Really?!  I mean, what do “famous” people do all day?  And how long does it take to send a quick reply, especially this day in age with today’s technology?  I mean, I would think “Famous” people sleep at night, get up at whatever time they get up, and spend at least 12 hours awake each day.  They probably have their cuppa joe or tea or whatever it is to get them going, and then what?  You mean to tell me EVERY minute of EVERY DAY of your lives is spent negotiating with some agent or manager about the next appearance or event or whatever it is you’re famous for?

I’m not accusing all famous or successful bands of being this way.  I know there are a few that haven’t forgotten WHO pays their bills and sustains their “famous” lifestyles.  I mean, how hard is  it to follow a fan back, or send them a quick “thank you” on Twitter for instance?  Not very.  It is a matter of making A CHOICE whether to spend your “valuable” time doing it OR NOT.

Back in the day, bands were required by their record labels/managers (or whoever) – at least the successful ones – to answer fan mail.  This is back in the day of picking up a pen and paper and physically writing each one and addressing envelopes.  But it was still done.  It was seen back then as an absolute necessity.  And frankly, IT STILL IS.

I personally enjoy interacting with fans.  I’m a little ADDICTED to it (and them).  Granted, I’m not “famous”, but I can’t imagine not doing it. Yes, “my name is Scott, and I’m an ASA fan addict,” Even if it gets so crazy that I need help – ASA has already made a pledge among ourselves that we will take turns on a daily or weekly basis to see that it is done.  ASA Fans: you have OUR SOLEMN PROMISE.  You will get at least one of us, not some assistant.  It may take a while, but it WILL happen.

I mean, how ELSE will “famous” people communicate with their fans? Nobody writes letters anymore.  So if you don’t reply to posts, DM’s or tweets – HOW EXACTLY are you going to build and sustain relationships with your fans?

Give it a try. You’ll be glad you did, because it’s DUE to your fans that you’re “too busy” and “famous” in the first place.  Remember, you put on your pants one leg at a time just like the rest of us.  Never forget it.

And if you’re a frustrated fan of some artist that won’t give you the time of day, stick with us.  We want you in our world.

Leave a Reply

